A Day in Mytilini, Lesbos

P1000408When people think of visiting Greece, they can rattle off a few sites that are must sees on their list – Athens, Santorini, Mykonos, even Olympia. Rarely do people exclaim, “Oh! Mytilini, Lesvos! I HAVE to go there!” I was pleasantly surprised by our time in Mytilini during the Epic Honeymoon Cruise of 2014. There is a small city beach near the port where locals can be found. For a few Euros, you can enjoy the beach chairs, cafe, and changing rooms. This isn’t an awe-inspiring, jaw-dropping beach, but it was a nice place to spend a few hours while at port. My husband enjoyed the people watching since the beach was full of Lesbians (after all, we were on the island on the Lesvos – also spelled Lesbos – and I just confirmed, the locals are called Lesbians).

P1000421The harbor near the cruise port had some bargain gem restaurants that were surprisingly delicious. One of the most notable meals of our honeymoon that we still talk about with friends was a gyro at this little restaurant located right on the water (the first one where all the boats are docked). The pita was fresh and it was filled with tender chicken, mustard, ketchup, tzatziki sauce, lettuce, tomato, onion, AND FRENCH FRIES! At first, I was skeptical. Who wants fries in their pita? Me. I want fries in my pita.

P1000424Another great food find was the Gardenia Patisserie & Cafe. I think this place goes on record for one of the best Euros I’ve spent ever. I am not even sure how to describe it, but I had this delicious little chocolate treat with a thin chocolate shell with a chocolate mousse filling. This little place had wide variety of ice cream options – with Kit Kat and Snickers flavors. Right up my alley!

Leave a Reply

