Life, Liberty, and Helicopters

Liberty Helicopter ToursI’ve been accruing credit card rewards for quite some time.  I’ve earned a ton with all the flights abroad, hotels near and far, local restaurants, and cute clothes I’ve purchased over the years.  I came up with a policy on how I would spend such rewards: Do something that I would NEVER pay for with my own money.  My mom is all about cashing out her rewards for gift cards to places like Olive Garden, I decided to be more ridiculous and started looking into some of the travel options on the reward site for my January trip to NYC.  And then I came across this…

“New York City isn’t called the “Big Apple” for nothing!! This very popular tour provides awe inspiring views of the Big Apple’s most iconic landmarks. As you soar above the famous Hudson River you will fly right by the magnificent Statue of Liberty in all of her glory.”

Completely ridiculous and something I would never pay for out of my own pocket, so I signed myself and my friend up for Liberty Helicopter Tours via my rewards points.  This clear tourist trap was way out of my price range, but certainly worth the free rewards points.  We flew over the city for 15 minutes catching the birds-eye view of the Statue of Liberty, Empire State Building, Chrysler Building, Central Park, and Yankee Stadium.  The views made for some fun photos, but the combo of the heavy clothes (to keep warm in freezing January), the warm sun shining through the glass, and headsets throwing off my equilibrium made me a little queasy by the end of the flight.  I don’t think I could have handled the tour to be much longer than it was!  Thankfully it was free AND the queasiness went away relatively quickly so I could continue to adventure around the city post helicopter.  And I cashed in on a tour not many people have done – a helicopter flight over the the biggest city in the U.S.  It was worth the cost. 😉Liberty Helicopter

Liberty Helicopter

Liberty Helicopter

Liberty Helicopter

Statue of Liberty Liberty Helicopter

Liberty Helicopter

Liberty Helicopter

Liberty Helicopter

Liberty Helicopter

Liberty Helicopter

Liberty Helicopter

Yankee Stadium Liberty Helicopter

Liberty Helicopter

Leave a Reply

