Memphis: Desserts and Chicken?

It seems that the past few years of my life have been full of weddings (not my own, but don’t fret – I’m not the always the bridesmaid, I’m usually just a guest).  These weddings bring me on grand adventures near and far (which I just love).  The most recent wedding brought me to Memphis, Tennessee.  I never actually made it to Memphis before, even with my college alma mater’s football team playing in bowl games there many times before.

Before heading off to Memphis for the wedding and some quality time with great friends, I decided that I should come up with a few places/things to see since I really didn’t know too much about what the city had to offer.  At 11pm the night before a 6am flight (talk about last minute), I googled “best desserts in Memphis” and came across a blog called Memphis Spork, with some great recommendations!  One place the blog recommended was Gibson’s Donuts.  When I mentioned this place to some locals, they all started raving about the hometown favorite – Blueberry Cake Donut.  My personal favorite was the Pumpkin Spice Cake Donut with Cream Cheese Frosting – but be forewarned, this is seasonal!  All the cake donuts I tried were amazing – Blueberry, Red Velvet, and of course the Pumpkin Spice, but the Caramel Glazed left a little to be desired.  It wasn’t bad, but a bit anti-climatic in comparison to the other glorious options on the menu.  If I ever get back there, I hope to try the Devil’s Food Cake with Chocolate Frosting!  It’s a weekend special and apparently (despite the name) heavenly!

Directly across the street from Gibson’s Donuts is another Memphis landmark, Gus’s Fried Chicken. Talk about a great location – donuts and fried chicken within walking distance of one another.  Amazing.  Gus’s chicken seasoning has a little kick to it, but I didn’t find it too spicy.  And since we were feeding a crowd of bridesmaids and family, we managed to try EVERY side dish on the menu and all were delicious, especially the seasoned fries.

Just a little ways down the street from the other great local food (aka on one of the best streets in Memphis due to all the yumminess – Mendenhall Rd which turns Mt. Moriah Rd), we came across Ricki’s Cookie Corner.  Thanks to Ricki’s sandwich board near TJ Maxx, we stumbled upon this great bake shop while on a wedding shoe shopping trip.  Ricki herself was in the store and encouraged us to try samples of her “chipstick” cookie squares.  I personally took full advantage of this and tasted the original (chocolate chip), ginger, double chocolate, and peanut butter – all equally amazing.  The peanut butter and original topped my list and therefore purchased.  And surprisingly, I managed to even save some until I was back in Orlando to enjoy a post travel sweet once home.  If you aren’t heading to Memphis anytime soon, you are in luck!  Ricki’s ships.  Now, if I could only get some friend chicken and donuts shipped from the neighboring shops.  Maybe they would combine postage fees for me?  🙂

Gibson's Donuts on Urbanspoon Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken on Urbanspoon Ricki's Cookie Corner and Bakery on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Memphis: Desserts and Chicken?

  1. Pingback: Memphis Music « Dessert Adventures

  2. Pingback: Memphis’ Zoo & Music « Dessert Adventures

Leave a Reply

