EPCOT’s Food Around the “World”

EPCOT’s Food and Wine Festival is one of the best excuses for local Orlandoers (Orlandoites?  Orlandians?  I never know what to call us!) to find our free ticket hook-up and go to Disney World.  Every fall, EPCOT’s “World Showcase” exhibits food from all over the globe.  My friends and I love to trek around the “world” to taste what each country has to offer.

Canada.  My absolute favorite thing at the Food & Wine Festival each year is Canada’s Cheddar Cheese Soup.  It is so delicious that I even went back for seconds this year!  The soup has all sorts of veggies it it (like onions and carrots).  The picture to the left doesn’t do the soup justice as I was so excited about experiencing this yumminess, that I forgot to take a photo at the beginning!  And even though it is usually pretty warn in Florida during the festival, this warm soup is worth the heat!  One year I bypassed the soup in lieu of the afternoon weather and completely missed it due to the park closing.  Just eat it at the beginning (and maybe again at the end.  I won’t judge…)

Ireland.  Ireland’s Warm Chocolate Lava Cake with Bailey’s Ganache is another winner in my book.  It’s a small cake for a chocoholic like me, but so very tasty!  The cake is dense and lacks the lava explosion that you expect from a “lava cake”, but the sauce makes it delicious.  It also lacks a strong alcohol taste in the sauce, which is my personal preference.  I licked the plate when I was done eating.  Again, I won’t judge if you do the same!

Morocco.  I tried something new at Morocco this year – the Harissa Chicken Roll.  I was not disappointed in this selection, but it was oddly similar to the Southwest Egg Rolls at Chili’s or the Tex Mex Egg Rolls at Cheesecake Factory.  I love both of these menu options, as I did with this Chicken Roll at Morocco.  My only thought was that I could have saved the money at Food & Wine since I could find this food somewhere else outside of the expensive land of Disney World!

Hops & Barley.  At the America pavilion you can find the Hops & Barley stall which also has a delicious dessert shot for the low, low price of $1.50!  Major win.  The Pumpkin Mousse with Ocean Spray Craisins Dried Cranberries and Orange Sauce was definitely an unexpected delight. My original motivation behind buying this was that I like pumpkin and it was cheap.  The Orange Sauce was tart, but a really nice combo with the pumpkin mouse and cranberries.

Desserts & Champagne.  The only thing I tried that I would NOT recommend was the Dark Chocolate Mousse with Chili and Salted Caramel from the Desserts and Champagne stall.  This was another new dessert shot that was only $1.50.  I figured the last risk paid off and went for it.  Sadly, this risk did not work out as well.  The salted caramel was extremely salty, and not just an accent taste to the chocolate.  Also, the chili was overwhelming in my opinion.  I ended up with two of these desserts – which was a long story, but involved me very resourceful to say the least, but I didn’t even eat them both.  I know, it’s a crime to let chocolate go to waste but I just couldn’t do it!

Some other food I enjoyed around the world (but didn’t want to make my blog FOR-EV-ER long) was two new treats: Hawaii’s Kalua Pork Slider with Sweet and Sour Dole Pineapple Chutney and Spicy Mayonnaise, Terra’s Chili Colorado with House-made Chips and Cashew Cheese featuring Gardein Beefless Tips.  And two usual favorites: Argentina’s Beef Empanada, South Africa’s Seared Filet of Beef with Smashed Sweet Potatoes and Braai Sauce.

 

2 thoughts on “EPCOT’s Food Around the “World”

Leave a Reply

