Sweets in the City

One of the best things about visiting New York City is the plethora of restaurants and cafes.  If you are in the mood for legit italian or thai food, you are in luck – NYC has it!  Despite all these amazing lunch and dinner options, I am always on the look out for something gooey, ooey, and chocolate!  This trip to New York did not disappoint in the dessert arena.  Here are my favorites from my most recent trip to the city:

Hands down, the dessert I talk about the most and always seek out when I’m in NYC is at Union Square’s Max Brenner.  In fact, this topped my list of Desserts Around the World.  Max Brenner’s tagline is “chocolate by the bald man” and all over the walls are quotes like, “Look Mom!  Willa Wonka is real!”  Yep, this restaurant is a chocolate lovers dream.  The lunch/dinner food options aren’t bad either (I recommend the Brenner Burger.  Yum!)  My favorite dessert at this chocolate paradise is the Euphoria Peanut Butter Chocolate Fudge Sundae.  I know the name is a mouthful, but that’s nothing when it comes down to all that’s in this treat.  This time around, I found that the ingredients have changed a bit… but it’s still amazing.  You can’t go wrong with caramelized bananas, peanut butter sauce, dulce de leche ice cream, chocolate sauce, chocolate ice cream, toffee chunks, and peanuts.

Another New York favorite is Baked by Melissa‘s cupcakes. I don’t know how they do it, but Baked by Melissa jams all sorts of deliciousness into quarter sized mini cupcakes.  I love the peanut butter and jelly cupcake as well as the chocolate chip cookie dough and the chocolate peanut butter (no surprise that I like the peanut butter and chocolate cupcake.  That’s like my definition of heaven).  The mint chocolate chip, chocolate pancake, and s’mores are also delightful.  Basically, you can’t go wrong with any of these flavors… and I’ve tried almost all of them.  Baked by Melissa has expanded and they have multiple locations that you just happen upon all over the city.  The one we stopped at was in SoHo, but I also came across one outside of Union Square and Grand Central Station.  They also have flavors of the month, which means every time you visit you get another chance at deliciousness!  Win.

As I’ve been to New York so many times, I surely thought I had tasted every great dessert there was to offer.  I was wrong.  The Shake Shack and Doughnut Plant are two new finds that top some old standbys (sorry, Crumbs and Magnolia Bakery).

The flashy and bright Shake Shack is located right outside of Times Square for all your post Broadway show dessert cravings, especially if you are in the mood for frozen custard.  I had the “Pretzel! The Concrete” which contained chocolate covered pretzels with peanut butter sauce and marshmallow sauce all mixed into my chocolate custard.  If you like to avoid the craziness of the tourist filled Times Square, don’t fret.  Shake Shack has 8 locations in New York!  What?!?!  I know, it is catching up with Starbucks.  Also, the Shake Shack has burgers and fries, so you can load up on all sorts of America’s favorite fattiness all in one place!  I won’t judge, in fact, you’ll probably see me in there!

The Doughnut Plant takes your normal doughnut and turns it into an exotic experience.  Both the glazed and cake doughnuts lived up to my expectations.  The peanut butter banana cream glazed doughnut may be the best doughnut I’ve ever had.  Correction, it is the best doughnut I’ve ever had.  My friend ate the blueberry cake doughnut and this thing had actual blueberries baked into it.  Luckily, this place has multiple locations for you to indulge yourself in both the Lower East Side and in Chelsea.  The doughnuts can also be found at cafes like Dean & Deluca and in your Shake Shack concrete.

Ahh New York City, you never let me down when it comes to satisfying my sweet tooth!

Max Brenner on Urbanspoon Baked by Melissa on Urbanspoon Shake Shack on Urbanspoon Doughnut Plant on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

