Camping in Helen, Georgia

For Memorial Day weekend a few church friends and I decided to go camping in the North Georgia area outside of Helen.  Now, we didn’t just go camping in a state park, we actually did primitive camping.  I couldn’t believe that I was planning to spend the weekend in the woods with no bathrooms but somehow I managed and I even had an amazing time!

One of the highlights of the weekend was when we went to this breathtaking waterfall outside of Helen closer to Dahlonega.  The guys were super adventuresome and decided to jump off the dangerously slippery cliff into the water below.  I, on the other hand, played it safe and jumped from the lower level rocks into the pool of ice water.  Call me lame, but I still felt adventuresome and didn’t have the fear of death when leaping!  We all swam around until we couldn’t handle the chill any longer and then called it a day.  My little Olympus waterproof camera did a great job capturing our fun and didn’t get lost in the depths of the waterfall!  This is a big accomplishment for me after some of my other water excursions – like the time I lost my camera at the bottom of a waterfall in Virginia for 24 hours or the time I lost my camera on the Great Barrier Reef while snorkeling in Australia.

On Sunday we decided that a day swimming in the waterfall was not enough of freezing mountain water for us.  And it’s well known that when it Helen, it is absolutely necessary to go tubing down the Chattahoochee River (as well as pretend you’ve been to Germany with all that German decor around town).  I’ve had a few friends who have spent their summers in a nearby town – Sautee Nacoochee – and they highly recommend the Cool River Tubing Company for floating down the river.  We weren’t disappointed with the tubes or the two hour float down river!  The tubing company charges $5 for a stick to help you navigate down the river, which is a steep price in my opinion for a stick that helps you unlodge from rocks.  Both times I’ve been tubing here, I didn’t get the stick and still managed to make it out alive.  A friend even found her own free stick mid river!  So thrifty.

Of course I can’t post without mentioning some sort of dessert.  One of the evenings back at camp we cooked these delicious campfire ice cream cones (courtesy of pinterest).  These delights consisted of peanut butter, bananas, chocolate, and marshmallows all toasted over the fire.  Sooooo gooey and yummy.  Just don’t leave them over the fire for too long.  You’ll end up with a burnt ice cream cone!

Throughout the grand adventures of the weekend, I learned a ton.  For example, I could handle not having a bathroom at our camp.  Who knew?  Also, that continuing to talk even when your voice is gone is not going to help the situation, in fact it will just earn you the nickname squeaky.  I also learned that God is moving in big ways everyday and is waiting for us to join him, we just need to stop and pray and ask where we can be a part of this.  It’s so simple and almost cliche Christian talk, yet God will open up doors and situations you were completely unaware of previously if you legitimately ask.  It’s a bit intimidating at first, but man, God has rocked my world since this weekend and used my friends to learn more about Him.  It’s soooo good, and much like the campfire cones, I highly recommend it!

3 thoughts on “Camping in Helen, Georgia

  1. This is really God’s country. Only God could make such beautiful places and scenery. You can see why I retired to north Georgia. Not quite in this area but close enough to go there any time I want. Been to Helen many times and never tire of it. If someone has not been they need to go.

  2. Pingback: North Georgia Waterfalls | Dessert Adventures

Leave a Reply

