St. Augustine: Bikes, Fort, and Cupcakes!

Last week, I posted about an excursion to St. Augustine for a friend’s birthday adventure.  I know, it’s taken me forever to get the second part about this trip up – and this is post contains the most important part – dessert!  When we left off, I mentioned that we climbed the Lighthouse – a prime calorie burning activity!  Afterwards, we headed towards St. George Street and my friend mentioned that he knew of a cupcake shop in the area.  He asked us if we wanted to go.  Um, hello?  Has he not known me since college?!  Of course I wanted cupcakes!  The place is Luli’s Cupcakes – they have delicious cupcakes and a whimsical decor.  Of course, I went for a banana cupcake with chocolate chips and peanut butter frosting.  And not only did they have cupcakes, but also macaroons!  Reminiscent of the macaroons I had in Paris, I went in for a coconut macaroon as well.  Not quite as flakey and soft as the famous Ladurée macaroons, but I certainly wouldn’t turn down these Luli’s macaroons!

After the sweets, we rented some bikes from Solano Cycle to tour around the old town.  One of my favorite places was Flagler College.  The campus was beautiful (and really tiny in comparison to my massive university).

We rode bikes down by the water and around Castillo de San Marcos (aka the fort).  This Spanish fort is typical of the early Spanish explorers architecture – or at least from the fort that I’ve seen in San Juan, Puerto Rico.  It was built in 1672, significantly later that Ponce de Leon’s initial journey in 1513.  We didn’t actually go into the fort because we got our fill of the colonial era from just being in the town of St. Augustine.  Overall, it really was a fun day of desserts, bikes, and great friends!

Luli's Cupcakes on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

